Without Measure (WOM) 365

January 2, 2007

New Year, New Diet Mania

Filed under: fitness,health,ISAA,self esteem,size acceptance — directisaa @ 8:26 pm

Dilber from 01-01-07

We all know the scenario: the end-of-year holidays have come and gone and now the diet marketing goes into effect. People are guilt-tripped because they supposedly ate too much during the holidays, make New Years’ resolutions to lose weight this year and will try just about anything to accomplish this goal. Ah, but this year, we also have weight loss surgery being pushed by bariatric corporations, whether gastric banding or the full shebang, gastric bypass.

I’m pretty passionate in my disapproval of weight loss surgery (See ISAA’s Position on Weight Loss Surgery). I’ve had friends die from it, I’ve seen numerous lives ruined by it and I learn more not to like about it almost daily.

My outlook is not all gloom and doom, however. Actually, I have seen a lot of positive changes in recent years. Modern teens and young adults do not make weight loss as high a priority as their parents. Some do not make it a priority at all. In the United States, at least, this is the first generation of people to be raised with some awareness of size acceptance and the scientific proof that diets do not work. I believe this will eventually happen in other countries where word about size acceptance and healthy body esteem is beginning to spread, slowly but surely.

As we continue to work to get information about size acceptance, Respect Fitness Health and the pitfalls of the junk science being used to promote weight loss is dispensed in person and over the internet, the more information people will have to make informed choices concerning their health.

Even new studies are clearly showing that weight loss is not necessary to be healthy while making improved food choices and being active is. I believe we will see more research in this area and more conclusive proof but of course, time will tell.

Best Wishes,

Allen

2 Comments »

  1. I’ve been overhearing more TV than usual lately (as opposed to actually watching it–which I have mostly given up), and I am astonished by the amount of seasonal diet propaganda this January. I always knew that it was a bad joke, but I never knew it was this bad. I can imagine how a person living in the last century–no computer and lots of commercial television–would be well nigh obsessed with losing weight after listening to the senseless bombardment of diet ads.

    I have also noticed that it works. The little gym I go to in town is packed to overflowing with people around prime time. It’s hard to get a parking space outside or a treadmill slot inside. The place is typically empty aside from a lone bodybuilder or two grunting in the back of the room (and whatever vague organisms thrive in the carpet fungus). Now the place is alive with a variety of women, of all shapes, ages, and sizes, who I’m guessing are refugees of the daytime TV diet barrage.

    There is a lot of hope, though, among the young–(and among the rest of us who aren’t, but are living in the 21st century nonetheless). As Allen points out, the fact that diets do not work–as in at all–is pretty much common knowledge among those who are exposed to more than one type of media.

    I also find it interesting that the diet commercials–which used to feature vacuous skinny people dancing in midair–now often feature vacuous chubby people doing the same thing. In fact most of the new wave diet commercials are not particularly obnoxious, aside from sheer volume and pervasiveness.

    With one solitary exception–the Subway ads
    bashing the fat kid on the sofa playing the 80s style videogame. I consider targeting children dirty pool. I am making a mental note to boycott
    Subway, and its tasteless micromanaged sandwiches, from this point forward.

    -paul

    Comment by pauldelacroix — January 13, 2007 @ 10:47 am | Reply

  2. I love that Dilbert comic, it’s so true. I don’t diet anymore, but when I used to diet it’s like everything is food.

    Comment by Jackie — October 7, 2007 @ 1:30 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

